Ragnow named to ‘Rimington’ watch list

NEW YORK — A day after representing Arkansas at SEC Football Media Days, senior center Frank Ragnow was named to the fall watch list for the 2017 Rimington Trophy on Tuesday.

The award is presented annually to the Most Outstanding Center in NCAA Division I-A College Football.

Ragnow had previously appeared on the award’s spring watch list in May. He is the seventh different Razorback to be named to the Rimington Trophy Watch List over the award’s 16-year history.

The seven different Arkansas centers have combined for 12 appearances on the watch list with Jonathan Luigs winning the award in 2007.

Ragnow was named the nation’s best offensive lineman and best run blocker and a first-team All-American by Pro Football Focus (PFF) for the 2016 season.

RELATED:   Anderson pleased with Hogs' play in win

He helped pave the way for running back Rawleigh Williams III to capture the SEC regular-season rushing title with 1,326 yards and provided time for quarterback Austin Allen to throw for an SEC-best 3,430 yards.

Williams topped the century mark seven times on the ground, while Allen tallied four 300-plus yard passing games.

The Razorbacks manufactured 428.4 yards of total offense per game, highlighted by five games with both 200 yards rushing and passing.

A native of Victoria, Minnesota, Ragnow graded out as the top center in the nation by PFF twice in 2016 after his performances during wins over then-No. 11 Florida and at Mississippi State.

He graded out as a top three center in five of 12 regular-season games and earned an 80 percent grade or higher from PFF seven times.

RELATED:   Hogs extend winning streak, downing Aggies

According to PFF, Ragnow didn’t allow a sack for the second straight season and decreased his total number of pressures allowed from 19 in 2015 to just 12.

Ragnow also was named SEC Offensive Lineman of the Week on Sept. 18, 2016, for his efforts in his start at right guard against Texas State.

He graded out at a career-best 92 percent and helped Arkansas rush for 226 yards and three scores in the 42-3 win.

Ragnow has made 26 straight starts heading into his senior campaign with 14 starts at right guard and 12 at center.

The Rimington Trophy committee uses the following three teams to determine a winner:

RELATED:   Hogs holding tryout for football walkons March 1

• Walter Camp Foundation (WCF)
• Sporting News (SN)
 Football Writers Association of America (FWAA)

Since its inception, the Rimington Trophy has raised over $2.9 million for the cystic fibrosis community.

The award is overseen by the Boomer Esiason Foundation, which is committed to finding a cure for cystic fibrosis and has raised over $130 million for the fight against cystic fibrosis.

Arkansas’ All-Time Rimington Trophy Watch List Members
Frank Ragnow — 2016, 2017
Mitch Smothers — 2015
Travis Swanson — 2011, 2012, 2013
Jonathan Luigs — 2006, 2007*, 2008
Kyle Roper — 2005
Dan Doughy — 2003
Josh Melton — 2001

*-2007 Rimington Trophy Recipient